Local Democrats Kick off Campaign Season

by Mary Paden

More than 200 local Democrats kicked off the state and local campaign season on Sunday, September 8, at the Annual Mt Vernon District Democratic Committee (MVDDC) Ice Cream Social at the home of Joe Tompkins and family.

Rep. Don Beyer and Commonwealth’s Attorney candidate Steve Descano, as well as state and local candidates with constituents in Mt Vernon District spoke at the Ice Cream Social stressing the great importance of the typically low-turnout local elections this November.

“Most of the laws and regulations that actually affect your daily lives are made by officials at the state and local levels,” Sen. Scott Surovell told the crowd.

Mt. Vernon District has all Democratic state senators and delegates, but this election has the potential to flip the state house and senate to Democratic rule with the addition of only a few victories. Surovell and Sens. Adam Ebbin and George Barker said they look forward to passing laws to prevent gun violence, fund health care and education, get redistricting on the 2021 ballot, and promote other Democratic goals.

Delegates Paul Krizek, Kathy Tran, Mark Sickles, and Vivian Watts gave high-energy pitches to volunteers to get out the vote.

Karen Corbett-Sanders, Mt. Vernon representative and Chair of the Fairfax County School Board, joined with the three at-large Democratic Party-endorsed candidates: Karen Keys-Gamarra, Abrar Omeish, and Rachna Sizemore Heizer, to promise to work for equitable and quality education.

Lee Supervisor Jeff McKay, running for Board of Supervisors’ Chair, embraced his possible successor, Lee supervisor candidate Rodney Lusk, while Mt. Vernon Supervisor Dan Storck announced that on September 20 the South County Government Center will be renamed the Gerry Hyland Government Center in honor of Storck’s predecessor. Hyland, who attended the event, carried on his tradition of punnery, by remarking, “It’s not that I have an edifice complex or anything.”

Photo: State and local candidates with constituents in Mt Vernon District.


About the author