January 2019 Membership Meeting Recap

The Mount Vernon District Democratic Committee held its January membership meeting on Tuesday, January 15, 2019.
Click here for the full meeting minutes. Highlights and action items include:
  • The Committee voted in three new members – welcome, Essam, Lina, and James!
  • The Committee voted in two new Vice Chairs. LexaLynn Hooper is the new Vice Chair of Events and Maria Vorel is the Vice Chair of Precinct Ops (Middle).
  • Supervisor Dan Storck and Fairfax County School Board Chair Karen Corbett Sanders updated the membership on current and upcoming initiatives.
  • LexaLynn Hooper updated the group on the 11th annual Mardi Gras & Straw Poll, taking place on February 23.
  • Maria Vorel shared her notes from a post-election best practices meeting.
  • Candidates Karen Corbett Sanders, Steve Descano, Jeff McKay, Abrar Omeish, and Elaine Tholen spoke about their platforms.

Next meeting: Tuesday, February 19, 2019, 7:00pm

About the author